Display Live time series chart

Hi, I am new to Mendix, I want to display ‘live’/streaming time series values in a graph (Line Chart) where x-axis is DateTime and Y-axis is numbers. The graph will get data every 1-2 seconds from external server using MicroFlow with REST API. The thing is that the TimeSeries component displays always empty graph that starts from May-2000 although I am passing data of this year.. Here is an example of what is back from the server: {"time_stamp": 1692.224, "actual_robot_voltage": 719.0, "safety_mode": 726, "tool_temperature": 765.0, "runtime_state": 723, "actual_main_voltage": 764.7601509094238, "tool_mode": 974, "_time": "2019-09-26T16:26:48.615Z", "actual_momentum": 719.0, "robot_mode": 722} ** Note: I am using _time as my x-axis and ‘safety_mode’ as my y-axis
asked
5 answers

Hi Ahmed,

I think you are on the right track! You should be able to use the TimeSeries widget using a microflow datasource, in which you retrieve data from an external server and set a refresh of the chart on every 1 or 2 seconds.

Make sure the datasource-microflow returns a list of all the datapoints, and you set both the x-axis value and sort value:

If that's OK, can you show the result of that microflow (for example a screenshot of the Variables-window when breaking on the datasource-microflow)?

Kind regards,

Johan

answered

The app displays list of robot’s information…

Robot Entity are defined in Mendix: Name, entity-id and property-set-name. (Last two, values are copied-paste from MindSphere)

There is an HTTP server running that fetching data from MindSphere time series service. (The internal implementation does the login to MindSphere)

Robot Overview, displays Robot Persistent Entity

I added Time Series Chart

Note: Entity NativeModule.TimeSummary is not persistent

Here is the Microflow for fetching data from the HTTP server

Example of returned data from the server while debugging:

Example of data printed in the server log: