HELP! How can I refresh data in a list-view without refreshing the page?

Hi I’m new to Mendix and the concept of low level programming. I’m a University student studying Computer Science in my first year and familiar with languages such as: JavaScript, C#, Python, HTML and CSS. I’ve created an app to display weather conditions which is called via a REST API in a Microflow. The problem I’m facing is the app only seems to request the data once (when the page loads) and I want the data to update whenever I click the: “refresh” button.  So far, I’ve tried creating an action button to call the same Microflow - I’ve checked the Chrome network tab and can see the new values – however my JSON object doesn’t appear to update inside my ListView. Please can someone help me with this as I’ve spent countless hours scratching my head trying to figure this one out :) Kind regards, Gareth Davies
asked
5 answers

As addition, if you use a template grid instead of listview, you can set an auto refresh and your page will refresh itself in a given time interval.

answered

Gareth

It looks like your weather tiles are sourced by microflow.  If so, microflow sourced dataviews/listviews/datagrids only retrieve when the page is loaded.  To get the data to refresh, you can use the following approach:

• create a single entity that has the attributes you want to display (temp, humidity, dust)
  • change the page with the tiles so that all of the tiles are inside of one dataview pointing to your new entity
  • change the microflow that calls the REST service as follows:
    • add a parameter pointing to your new entity
    • after calling the REST service, update the parameter with the values your rest service returns.  Make sure you set the Refresh in Client radio button to Yes in the microflow action that updates the entity
  • create a microflow to open the page with the tiles, this microflow should:
    • create a new object of the entity you just created